Liberty football vs. Staley, Class 5 District 8 Championship Game, Friday, Nov. 4, at North Kansas City Schools District Activities Complex

Liberty's Robert Rawie has been selected as one of the top 10 football players in the Greater Kansas City area.

After rushing for more than 2,000 yards this season, the junior running back has made the list of Simone Award semifinalists, which was released last night. Four finalists for the prestigious honor will be announced 7 p.m. Monday, Nov. 28 during a live show on Time Warner Cable Sports Channel. The winner will be unveiled Tuesday, Dec. 6 at the high school of the winner of the Simone Award.

Four other honors tied with the Thomas A. Simone Awards - the Frank Fontana, Buck Buchanan, Bobby Bell and Otis Taylor - will also be handed out. The following is the complete list of semifinalists for each award:

Thomas A. Simone Award Nominees (Most Outstanding Football Player)

Any player of any class or year in school is eligible for this award

Jafar Armstrong, Bishop Miege

James Bailey, Jr., William Chrisman

Matt Dercher, Blue Valley

Mario Goodrich, Lee’s Summit West

Chester Graves, Park Hill

Dalton Hill, Lee’s Summit

Robert Rawie, Liberty

Julian Ross, Staley

Cornelius Ruff, Schlagle

Will Schneider, Shawnee Mission North North

Frank Fontana Award Nominees (Most Outstanding Small Class Football Player)

Missouri Class 1-4, Kansas Class 1A-4A players only

Travon Alexander, Richmond

JJ Letcher, Piper

Justin Mitchell, Platte County

Justin Phillips, Basehor-Linwood

Anthony Pritzel, Kearney

Carter Putz, Bishop Miege

Amaun Ryan, Center

Mason Smith, Odessa

Landry Weber, Bishop Miege

Rachaad White, Center

Buck Buchanan Award Nominees (Most Outstanding Lineman/Linebacker)

Missouri Class 5-6, Kansas Class 5A-6A players only

Daniel Carson, William Chrisman

Jay Dineen, Lawrence Free State

Chester Graves, Park Hill

Kirrian Kirby, Blue Valley

Peter Klug, Blue Valley North

Michael Maffry, Blue Valley

Daniel Parker, Blue Springs

Anthony Payne, Raymore-Peculiar

Eli Ross, Staley

Seven Wilson, Park Hill

Bobby Bell Award Nominees (Most Outstanding Small Class Lineman/Linebacker)

Missouri Class 1-4, Kansas Class 1A-4A players only

Diaz Elliott, Richmond

Colin Grunhard, Bishop Miege

Mason Koechner, Louisburg

Derek Kohler, Platte County

Ethan Luft, Kearney

Marquae Richardson, Center

John Taylor, Center

Kole Wagener, Grain Valley

Joe Watskey, Bishop Miege

TJ Williams, Basehor-Linwood

Otis Taylor Award Nominees (Most Outstanding Wide Receiver/Tight End)

Any player of any class or year in school is eligible for this award

Jafar Armstrong, Bishop Miege

Somaj Brewer, Lee’s Summit

Christian Cox, Center

Da’ron Davis, Lee’s Summit North

Jess Davis, Kearney

Jordan Martin, Turner

Zack Sanders, Lawrence Free State

Nick Snider, Belton

Trevor Thompson, Shawnee Mission East

Harrison Van Dyne, Blue Valley

Liberty Sports Editor Chris Geinosky can be reached at 389-6654 or chris.geinosky@libertytribune.com.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.