Kearney brings in newest Hall of Fame class

Inductees of the 2019 Kearney High School Athletics Hall of Fame are recognized prior to the Bulldogs' football game against Staley on Friday, Sept. 6, at Bulldog Stadium. The third Hall of Fame class consists of the 2002 football team and four individuals. 

KEARNEY — The Kearney High School athletics department celebrated its 2019 Hall of Fame class this past weekend.

The class, which consists of four individuals and one team, was recognized during the home football game on Friday, Sept. 6, and was officially inducted the following day at a banquet.

The team recognized was the 2002 Bulldogs football team. That squad brought the district its first of four state titles with a 36-22 victory over Eureka to cap a 13-1 season.

Kearney went back-to-back the following season, beating Ladue Horton Watkins 43-0. The Bulldogs have since won in 2009 and 2015. They reached the title game in 2016.

The four individual inductees were Bob Calder, class of 1968; Bill Jaggers, class of 1979; Yalen Van Dyne, class of 1987; and Janel Teiken, class of 1990.

It’s the third class to be inducted into the school’s hall of fame.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.